The Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education Honors New Officers, Fellows, Awardees

For Immediate Release
February 20, 2014

Contact: Todd Kluss
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(202) 587-2839

The Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE) — the educational branch of The Gerontological Society of America — is proud to announce its newest elected officers, fellows, and awardees.

The installation of the officers and presentation of the awards will occur at AGHE’s 40th Annual Meeting and Educational Leadership Conference, taking place from February 27 to March 2 at the Westin Denver Downtown in Denver, CO. This event provides a forum for professionals in the field of aging to present their work and share ideas about gerontological and geriatric education and training. Visit for complete details.


These individuals are responsible for matters of governance and strategic planning for the organization.

Donna Wagner, PhD, New Mexico State University

Lydia K. Manning, PhD, Concordia University Chicago

Christine A. Fruhauf, PhD, Colorado State University

Elizabeth A. Elmore, PhD, Richard Stockton College of New Jersey
Margaret B. Neal, PhD, Portland State University
Douglas P. Reed, PhD, University of Central Oklahoma

AGHE fellow status is an honor that recognizes outstanding leadership in gerontology and geriatrics education by established scholars and educators.

JoAnn Damron-Rodriguez, LCSW, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
Laura K. Donorfio, PhD, University of Connecticut
Christine A. Fruhauf, PhD, Colorado State University
Thomas A. Teasdale, PhD, University of Oklahoma

Clark Tibbitts Award
Presented to Harry “Rick” Moody, PhD
This award was established in 1980 to recognize individuals who and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the advancement gerontology as a field of study in institutions of higher education.

Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award

Presented to Nina M. Silverstein, PhD, University of Massachusetts Boston
This award, named for an outstanding mentor in gerontology, is given to an individual who has contributed to gerontological education through excellence in mentorship to students, faculty, and administrators.

Mildred M. Seltzer Distinguished Service Recognition
Presented to Harry “Rick” Moody, PhD, AARP; and Sally M. Newman, PhD, University of Pittsburgh
This award honors colleagues who are near retirement or recently retired. Recipients are individuals who have been actively involved in AGHE through service on committees, as elected officers, and/or have provided leadership in one of AGHE’s grant-funded projects.

David A. Peterson Gerontology & Geriatrics Education Best Paper of the Volume Award
Presented to Paul Roodin, PhD, State University of New York at Oswego; Laura Hess-Brown, PhD, State University of New York at Oswego; and Dorothy Shedlock, PhD, State University of New York at Oswego, for “Intergenerational Service Learning: A Review of Recent Literature and Directions for the Future”
The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence in scholarship in academic gerontology in AGHE’s official journal, Gerontology & Geriatrics Education.

Administrative Leadership Award
Presented to Robbyn R. Wacker, PhD, University of Northern Colorado
This award honors administrators on AGHE member campuses who have made exceptional efforts in support of gerontology or geriatrics education.

Distinguished Faculty Award
Presented to Cynthia Hancock, PhD, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
This award recognizes persons whose teaching stands out as exemplary, innovative, of impact, or any combination thereof.

Part-Time Faculty Recognition

Presented to Judith Griffin, MA, MS, RN, University of Massachusetts Boston; Barbara Hughes Leasure, MA, McDaniel College; and Victoria S. Theime, DO, University of New England College of Medicine
This award formally recognizes the contributions of part-time and/or adjunct faculty for their contributions to gerontological education at an AGHE member institution.

Book Award for Best Children’s Literature on Aging
Presented to Mary Brigid Barrett for “Shoebox Sam” in the primary reader (pre-K to 2nd grade) category; and Claire Rudolf Murphy, MFA, for “Marching with Aunt Susan: Susan B. Anthony and the Fight for Women’s Suffrage” in the elementary reader (3rd to 5th grade) category.
This award recognizes portrayals of meaningful aging in children’s literature.


The Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE) is the educational branch of The Gerontological Society of America, the nation’s oldest and largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to research, education, and practice in the field of aging. AGHE seeks to advance gerontology as a field of study at institutions of higher education through conferences, publications, technical assistance, research studies, and consultation with policy makers. It is currently the only institutional member organization dedicated to gerontology and geriatrics education worldwide.

Share This Page!

Print Page