Spring Award Nominations are February 1, 2023 - April 2, 2023

Submit an online application here!

GSA recognizes outstanding advanced and early/mid-career individuals of all disciplines through a host of prestigious awards.

Spring Awards honoring outstanding leaders in the field of gerontology:


Donald P. Kent Award

Robert W. Kleemeier Award

James Jackson Outstanding Mentorship Award

M. Powell Lawton Award

Maxwell A. Pollack Award for Contributions to Healthy Aging

The Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education:

Clark Tibbitts Award

Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award

Distinguished Faculty Award

Behavioral and Social Sciences:

Distinguished Career Contribution to Gerontology Award

Distinguished Mentorship in Gerontology Award

Richard Kalish Innovative Publication Award

Health Sciences:

Doris Schwartz Gerontology Nursing Research Award

Joseph T. Freeman Award

Excellence in Rehabilitation of Aging Persons Award

Social Research, Policy, and Practice:

Barbara J. Berkman Award for Outstanding Interdisciplinary Research, Practice, or Policy Aging and Health Care

Elaine M. Brody Thought Leader Award

Spring Awards celebrating mid and early career innovators in the field of gerontology:

*Several addition student awards are open for nomination starting July 1, 2021*

Society Wide:

Margret M. and Paul B. Baltes Award in Behavioral and Social Gerontology

Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education:

Rising Star Early Career Faculty Award

Student Leadership Award

Biological Sciences:

Nathan Shock New Investigator Award

Social Research, Policy, and Practice:

Carroll L. Estes Rising Star Award


The Gerontological Society of America (GSA) fosters new ideas, recognizes leadership in gerontological teaching and service, and salutes both outstanding and potential research through a host of awards. The Society's awards program has a dual purpose; honoring outstanding leaders in the field of gerontology and focusing attention on new developments in the area of aging. In a way, the Society's award recipients serve as milestones in the history and development of gerontology.

The multidisciplinary breadth of the Society's membership is reflected in the awards maintained by GSA. Some awards honor outstanding achievement in gerontology irrespective of discipline, other awards are limited to each of the Society's six members groups; the Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education, Biological Sciences, Behavioral and Social Science, Emerging Scholar and Professional Organization, Health Sciences, and Social Research, Policy, and Practice. 

For more information about additional GSA awards, click below:

Additionally, there is a complete list of awardees

For more information, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.